Top Things You (I) Should Never Do in Big Interview

March 6, 2009

In my spastic attempts to re-enter the working world, I have committed several missteps that would be funny if they weren’t devastatingly stupid. Let’s share war stories. Here’s the first in my list of Top Things Not To Do.

Save Your Best Outfit for Your Follow-Up Interview-Ok, this one is “girlie”, I know. But it applies to many aspects of the process. Sometimes your best (and only) shot might be right off the bat. Mine seems to have been. An “informational” interview set up with a top PR VP was offered to me last year. I was beyond excited as I bought the fabulous suit for the interview process that was sure to follow. But what to wear to the “informational”? I cringe looking back at the khaki dress pulled out while the power suit was “saved” for the full day interviews surely to follow. I got so ahead of myself, I forgot to focus on the here and now. A mistake that also applied to the resume that was still a bit weak and the shared confidences of bits of insecurity with the VP after we hit it off so well.

Let’s just say the “follow-up” Silence was not so Golden!   

How many times have I told me kids, “You only have one chance to make a first impression”. There is no such thing as “informational”. Go for it at every opportunity.

I unfortunately have a few more to share with you in the coming days. How about you? Any good ones?

khaki-dressversusblack-suit

2 Responses to “Top Things You (I) Should Never Do in Big Interview”

  1. IGrewUp Says:

    Just remembered another gaffe-I don’t wear a watch as I use my cell phone when I’m out for time. But couldn’t very well open up the Pink Razor phone (no Blackberry on me yet), so I never knew during our chat how long we had gone. Very distracting!! Next time-beautiful black suit and new watch……


Leave a comment