Pity Party’s Over-Let’s Get The Real Party Started!

March 16, 2009

Enough already…. Okay, I’ve moaned a bit about poor me. Aren’t there 5 stages of something? So I spent some time in shock. Apparently the Big World did not hold its breath for 20 years eagerly anticipating my return. I’m over it and ready to take matters into my own hands!

Having spent time on these boards I know I am not alone-you might either be right along with me or a few steps ahead. So how about we pool our resources and come up with some things we can do on our own, rather than whining about what the world is saying we can’t do . 

I am determined that I can switch careers. I’ve been told my whole life that I’m a PR natural. I just need to get some wind beneath my wings so to speak.

My friends who have been most successful at re-emergence have gone big by going back to school. I just don’t want to do that. I still have haunting nightmares of trying to pound my way into mysteriously locked buildings for finals. 

Instead I’ve put together my own graduate degree which I hope has set me on the right path. I have invested a bit in myself  to attain my MBF-Masters in Becoming Fabulous!

I’ve taken an amazing series of online courses at  MediaBistro.com all taught by sharp PR pros and walked away with an extensive working portfolio. I’ve also attended advanced seminars from  Sponsorship.com and The Donors Forum.

I have found all of this just put a more formal spin on much of what I’ve been doing on my own for two decades. But now I am more current with buzz words and trends. I’m shaving rings off my tree trunk circles.

I got over any trepidation about newer computer skills-lifelong PC girl went out and bought myself a Mac-and it’s mind blowing. Roamed around Borders a bit and brought home “Powerpoint in 24 Easy Lessons”. Guess what-I’m pretty darn good at it!

Then there’s this whole Blog thing-a world of people out there have no idea how to set this up-I plan to find them and offer my most proficient services. Of course there’s my LinkedIn page and now I am somehow Twitting from the Tweetdeck as well!

In other words I have replaced the hours I was spending staring at online applications and turned them into actual experiences to show for myself. Later we’ll talk about actually putting it into use.

I’d love to hear from you on what you have done to get yourself ready. Let’s go the party together!party-11

8 Responses to “Pity Party’s Over-Let’s Get The Real Party Started!”

  1. southernblogette Says:

    I just got a mac and LOVE it. I too work in PR/Development and my mac has been so helpful and is very user-friendly once you get the hang of a few of the commands. I hope you enjoy it.

  2. jkohlcsh Says:

    I love the proactive approach! I too am sick to death of staring at online job applications, spending gobs of time filling them out and having them disppear into at abyss.

    How did you come up with this PR training options online? I need to come up with some project management sources.

    Let’s party on and maike it happen!

    • IGrewUp Says:

      I just googled PR courses online. I knew that would be an efficient way to get great instruction quickly regardless of my actual location. I also really grew to love the online classroom arena-we would take our lecture by reading the notes, post our assignments and get immediate feedback. The online discussions were wide ranging and we had access to seasoned vets. I would also say all of the participants were really vested in the learning process. I bet there is something similar out there in project management!
      So glad you posted!!!


  3. Good for you, my friend!!!
    As a career and life transition counselor, I think there’s no better way to move your job search forward than building on your skill sets. You can put these on your resume and speak to them while networking and in interviews. Plus, each new accomplishment makes you feel good and goes a long way to helping the job search blues.
    I’ll be looking to see your name in one of those top PR firms soon!! 🙂


  4. What classes did you take from MediaBistro? Online or in person? A lot of them look interesting, but I have that whole no income thing going on…

    • IGrewUp Says:

      I went through the entire PR series-Intro, Int and Advanced. All taught by same teacher/professional, who is also a blogger at AlmostVegetarian.com and CookingSchoolConfidential.com .

      “Lectures” are delivered in written format online once a week-very easy to read and very pointed with real life assignments at the end of each lecture. Students assignments are all posted online with teacher giving very brief commentary on each one. Once a week online discussion over anything the students want to bring up.

      Expensive, yes. But I definitely “graduated” with a portfolio/example of most working PR documents that might be needed.

      And of course since I was paying out of my OWN money (rather than dear old dad’s back in the day) I sure paid attention and put forth great effort.
      Good luck!


Leave a Reply

